Hang It Out!

Somya Adhaulya
2 min readJan 23, 2021

Women undergarments have always been a material which is not only objectified (obviously they are objects) but brought to life and given a specific meaning when one has to hide things as in movies, whenever producers want to show any sex scene, they end up showing women’s undergarments on the floor! See, how they humiliate our undergarments.

We all girls have experienced a strange phenomenon while growing up. Whenever we wash our underwear and put it out to dry, our mother would instruct us to hide them beneath another cloth (mostly our towel). My maa once asked me to shift my undergarments a.k.a bra and panty to a corner, unheard or unseen by anyone. I felt bad for them, all the other clothes were bathing in the sun, disinfecting themselves and my undergarments were in isolation, all neglected.

Soon I started observing the other ladies in my family, how they dried their undergarments. To my surprise, they would literally suffocate their undergarments by wrapping them with polythene in the sun or behind the bathroom doors, but before doing any of that, they would give a careful, cunning look on all four sides as no one is allowed to watch her doing this, or else she would die of shame. Truth be told, I followed this ritual for some years till I was smart enough to question this and realized how ludicrous this practice actually was. But like it’s said- Better late than never! My undergarments now breathe in the open air tangling with my jeans and top as if they are talking to each other about the audacity I showed, though to be honest the ladies (including the maid) in my house still give an odd look, but I know my undergarments matter.

I mean how can a woman feel no shame drying a big self-tailored undergarment of all the men’s in the family without feeling shame. Infact, few feel it’s an honor to dry their spouse’s jockey. But when it comes to their own, women would feel so embarrassed about it.

I guess we will continue questioning the integrity of our undergarments until they get substituted by something else but until then I will leave you all with a personal thought- While drying your clothes if you ever feel the urge to hide your bra under another cloth, think of the hour’s men spend ogling at women’s breasts. Surely their innocent minds are aware of the existence of such devices, so why hide them? Instead, let your Lingerie breath and hang it out!

--

--

Somya Adhaulya

The misfits. The rebels. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently!